OSHR 3180 - The Rural Electric Association: History and Cooperative Concepts (Perk Series Lecture)

  • Noncredit
  • Fort Collins

This course is offered through the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI) at Colorado State University. You must be a member of Osher to enroll in this course.

Franklin D. Roosevelt, in 1938, dedicated the first rural electric cooperative in Georgia with 40,000 people present. In the 1930s for-profit power companies showed little interest in serving rural America. They lacked faith that farmers and rural families could manage a successful utility.

This perk will discuss the obstacles to rural electrification and the successes that were achieved through the rural electric association (REA) lending programs and cooperatives.

Noncredit courses do not produce academic credit nor appear on a Colorado State University academic transcript.